

# Council Assembly (Extraordinary Meeting)

MINUTES of the Council Assembly held on Wednesday 16 March 2016 at 9.00 pm at The Chamber, City Hall, The Queen's Walk, More London, London SE1 2AA

#### PRESENT:

The Worshipful the Mayor for 2015/16, Councillor Dora Dixon-Fyle MBE (Chair)

Councillor Evelyn Akoto Councillor Anood Al-Samerai Councillor Jasmine Ali Councillor Maisie Anderson Councillor James Barber Councillor Radha Burgess Councillor Sunil Chopra Councillor Fiona Colley Councillor Stephanie Cryan Councillor Nick Dolezal Councillor Karl Eastham Councillor Gavin Edwards Councillor Tom Flynn Councillor Lucas Green Councillor Renata Hamvas Councillor Barrie Hargrove

Councillor Ben Johnson
Councillor Samantha Jury-Dada
Councillor Eleanor Kerslake
Councillor Sarah King
Councillor Anne Kirby
Councillor Sunny Lambe
Councillor Octavia Lamb
Councillor Lorraine Lauder MBE

Councillor Jon Hartley

Councillor Helen Hayes Councillor David Hubber

Councillor Peter John OBE

Councillor Richard Livingstone
Councillor Rebecca Lury
Councillor Vijay Luthra
Councillor Jane Lyons
Councillor Eliza Mann
Councillor Hamish McCallum

Councillor Maria Linforth-Hall

Councillor Hamish McCallum Councillor Darren Merrill Councillor Victoria Mills Councillor Michael Mitchell Councillor Jamille Mohammed Councillor Adele Morris

Councillor David Noakes
Councillor Damian O'Brien
Councillor James Okosun
Councillor Leo Pollak
Councillor Sandra Rhule
Councillor Martin Seaton
Councillor Rosie Shimell
Councillor Andy Simmons
Councillor Michael Situ
Councillor Charlie Smith
Councillor Cleo Soanes
Councillor Kath Whittam
Councillor Mark Williams
Councillor Bill Williams
Councillor Ian Wingfield

# 1. PRELIMINARY BUSINESS

# 1.1 ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM THE MAYOR, MEMBERS OF THE CABINET OR CHIEF EXECUTIVE

There were no announcements.

#### 1.2 NOTIFICATION OF ANY ITEMS OF BUSINESS WHICH THE MAYOR DEEMS URGENT

The Mayor agreed to accept a report entitled 'Freedom of the Borough', as late and urgent for the reasons as set out in the report.

At this juncture, the Mayor reminded everyone of the programme motion that had been agreed earlier by council assembly.

# **RESOLVED:**

1. That the timings for the evening be as follows:

Time	Business	
	Extraordinary Meeting	
21:50 – 22:00	Item 2 – Freedom of the Borough	
22:00	Council assembly concludes	

2. That the extraordinary meeting be conducted as follows:

# Item 2 Freedom of the Borough

- 1. The meeting to give its consent to an amendment to the recommendations i.e. to agree paragraphs 4, 5 and 9 to 17 and the withdrawal of paragraphs 6 to 8 of the closed report.
- 2. Debate to include:
  - · Mayor to formally move the report
  - Vote on substantive motion.

#### 1.3 DISCLOSURE OF INTERESTS AND DISPENSATIONS

There were no disclosures of interest.

# 1.4 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received on behalf of Councillors Neil Coyle, Catherine Dale, Helen Dennis, Paul Fleming, Lisa Rajan, Johnson Situ and Kieron Williams.

#### 2. FREEDOM OF THE BOROUGH

(See pages 1-4 of open supplemental agenda 1, also pages 1-5 of the closed report)

This item had not been circulated five clear days in advance of the meeting. The chair agreed to accept the item as urgent as if council assembly agrees to confer the honour, then the most convenient date for a ceremony for presentation of the Honorary Freedom of the Borough is to make it coincident with Annual Council (incorporating Mayor Making) and the presentation of the Southwark Civic Awards at Southwark Cathedral on Saturday 14 May 2016. A council assembly meeting had already been scheduled to take place on 16 March 2016 and therefore this is the most appropriate date to take the recommendations.

At this juncture the Mayor reminded everyone that as part of the programme motion, the meeting had given its consent to the amendment of the report recommendations; that is, to consider paragraphs 4, 5 and 9 to 17 and the withdrawal of paragraphs 6 to 8 of the closed report.

In accordance with council assembly procedure rule 2.11.2, the report was formally moved by the Mayor.

Following debate (Councillor Anood Al-Samerai), paragraphs 4, 5 and 9 to 17 of the closed report were put to the vote and declared to be carried.

#### **RESOLVED:**

That the Freedom of the Borough be awarded to the nominees outlined in paragraphs 4, 5 and 9 to 17 of the closed report, these being:

- Mr Sam King MBE
- 343 (Camberwell) Squadron Royal Air Force Cadets
- Dolly Parton
- Sir Terence Conran
- John Boyega
- Jenny Agutter OBE.

# 3. AMENDMENTS

There were no amendments.

#### **CLOSED AGENDA**

#### 4. FREEDOM OF THE BOROUGH

This closed report setting out details of the nominees was formally noted. The decision is set out in item 2 above.

The meeting closed at 9.55 pm.		
CHAIR:		
DATED:		